The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau was completed on Friday January 12th, 2001 for the fourth time in the event’s history. In what could be considered the most perfect conditions for any Eddie to date, beautiful 20 to 25 foot waves, light offshore wind, and overcast skies blessed the competitors as they arrived at Waimea Bay just before sunrise. Contest Director George Downing made the call to hold the event and the first heat was in the water at 9:30am.

[IMAGE 1]After two rounds and four and a half-hours of surfing, the winner of the event and the $50,000 first place prize was Quiksilver’s very own Ross Clarke Jones. This was a huge victory for RCJ. Considered one of the best big wave surfers in the world for a number of years, a title at one of the major big wave events has eluded him, until Friday.

[IMAGE 3]The results along with some photos from the event are below. Todd Messick took the action shots of Slater and RCJ along with the shot of Ross with the check and Kristian Pangilinan took the land shots of the boys getting ready to paddle out. Please do not use the images, they are for your viewing pleasure only. Thanks to both for the photographs.

Bigger thanks goes to Glen and Meredith Moncata and their crew for pulling the day off. It’s great to see it happen!

[IMAGE 2]1. Ross Clarke Jones
2. Shane Dorian
3. Paul Patterson
4. Ross Williams
5. Kelly Slater
6. Tony Moniz
7. John Gomes
8. Peter Mel
8. Darryl Virostko
10. Clyde Aikau
11. Russ Keaulana
12. Cheyne Horan
13. Keoni Downing
14. Myles Padaca
15. Tony Ray
16. Braden Dias
17. Keoni Watson
18. Brian Keaulana
19. Garrett McNamara
20. Jamie Sterling
21. Elijah Young
21. Noah Johnson
23. Marvin Foster
24. Pancho Sullivan