Friday morning the WSL announced the list of invitees (below) for the Red Bull Airborne France competition – which will take place during the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro France Oct. 5-10, 2018. The list doesn't disappoint, pitting the most tech freesurfing innovators in a dogfight against some top-ranked CT talent. If the punchy Hossegor beachbreaks serve up any semblance of a ramp, there’s going to be fireworks with this crew.

Noah Dean

Red Bull Airborne France invitee Noa Deane. Photo: Ryan Craig/SURFER Magazine

Two wildcard spots remain open for the event that will be determined via online submissions. A judging panel consisting of aerial pioneers Josh Kerr, Taj Burrow, Tim Curran and Jason "Ratboy" Collins will pick the best online entry from a surfer over 18 years old, and the other wildcard goes to the best entry from a surfer under 18.

With these wildcard slots up for grabs for any takers, it will be interesting to see if we end up with another heavy hitter (you reading this, Dane Reynolds?) or any relative unknown with a knack for lofty punts.

And be sure to check out the contest’s format.

Red Bull Airborne France Competitors:

Albee Layer (HAW)
Chippa Wilson (AUS)
Mikey Wright (AUS)
Noa Deane (AUS)
Matt Meola (HAW)
Mason Ho (HAW)
Kolohe Andino (USA)
Griffin Colapinto (USA)
Yago Dora (BRA)
Italo Ferreira (BRA)
Filipe Toledo (BRA)
Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Eric Geiselman (USA)
Hector Santa Maria (PRI)
Kalani David (HAW)
Jack Freestone (AUS)
– Wildcard A
– Wildcard B

More Surf Content From ASN

A Discussion With the Event Director of the WSL Air Invitational, Josh Kerr

WSL Reveals What the Air Invitational Format Will Look Like

WSL Announces the Air Invitational at the Quiksilver Pro France