Watch The Billabong Rio Pro Live

Pauline Ado getting warmed up for day 1 of the Billabong Rio Pro. Photo: ASP

Pauline Ado getting warmed up for day 1 of the Billabong Rio Pro. Photo: ASP

Billabong Rio Pro is ON at 8am with Women's Round 1, Men on Standby

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio De Janeiro/Brazil (Thursday, May 12, 2011) - After calling a lay day yesterday, the Women's Billabong Rio Pro will begin at 8am local time following the men's trials heat in clean two-to-three foot (1 metre) waves at the main event site of Barra Da Tijuca. Men's Round 1 is currently on standby for a start after women's Round 1.

"The swell has dropped off from yesterday, but we have some clean waves on offer and will open up the Billabong Rio Pro with women's Round 1," Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. "We'd like to capitalize on the swell available today and will most likely see then men take to the water following the women's opening round."

ASP Women's World Tour rookies Tyler Wright (AUS), 16, and Courtney Conlogue (USA), 17, will face off against Claire Bevilacqua (AUS), 28, in Round 1 Heat 1 to kick off the Billabong Rio Pro. When men's competition begins, 2010 ASP Rookie of the year Owen Wright (AUS), 21, will take on Heitor Alves (BRA), 29, and Bobby Martinez (USA), 28, in Heat 1.

The Billabong Rio Pro holds a waiting period from May 11 through 22 and is webcast LIVE via

For additional ASP information log on to

Heat 1: Tyler Wright (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (BRA), Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
Heat 2: Silvana Lima (BRA), Paige Hareb (NZL), Felicity Palmateer (AUS)
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS), Maya Gabeira (BRA)
Heat 4: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Andrea Lopes (BRA)
Heat 5: Stepahnie Gilmore (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Suelen Naraisa (BRA)
Heat 6: Coco Ho (HAW), Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Alana Blanchard (HAW)

Heat 1: Owen Wright (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), TBA
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), TBA
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), TBA
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Julian Wilson (AUS), TBA
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Chris Davidson (AUS), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)

Billabong Rio Pro
Stop No. 3 of 11 on the men's ASP World Tour
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
May 11 - 22, 2011