Congratulations Dave Muir – Winner Of The He’e Nalu TNTV Sapinus Pro, Presented By Air Tahiti Nui

With an immensely talented group of athletes consisting of 4 Tahitians, 3 Hawaiians and 1 Australian, it was always going to be a fiercely fought match to reach the final 4. With the conditions more manageable, but also more tricky to read, the riders had their work cut out for them. After two epic semi finals, it was to be the Australian Dave Muir that came out on top of the first, throwing massive spray off every turn and linking right through from the point to the inside. Tama Audibert was the next to go through, taking out legends Arsene Harehoe and Vetea David in the process. In the other semi, it was to be Aaron Napoleon and Tahutini Heifara who came out on top, despite a strong push from Hawaiian Ikaika Kawai and Kekoa Uemura.

Aaron Napoleon. Photo: McKenna

Aaron Napoleon. Photo: McKenna

It was however to remain Dave Muir’s day, as he dominated the finals of the He’e Nalu TNTV Sapinus Pro presented by Air Tahiti Nui! Powerful turns with critical positioning earned him the Title here in Tahiti on this beautiful Thursday morning. Although it was not the giant barrels of yesterday, there were still some phenomenal waves to be ridden and Dave found them and used them to his advantage – a worthy champion in every respect. It was then a battle between Aaron Napoleon and Tama Audibert for 2nd place, with Tama clinching the advantage just seconds before the horn sounded with a complete last wave that brought him just 0.27 above Aaron, who was, until that point, safely in 2nd. In fourth it was to be Tahiti’s Tahutini Heifara.


Dave Muir. Photo: McKenna

You can watch the highlights from today’s and yesterday’s action by going clicking on the Immersed TV tab on this site – the highlights from today will be going up soon. As we prepare for the prizegiving at Le Meridien Hotel, the assembled riders are enjoying some cold Hinano’s to celebrate what is, without doubt, another benchmark set by the Stand Up World Tour.

Maururu and Aloha from the Waterman League!

1st Place: Dave Muir (Australia)
2nd place: Tama Audibert (Tahiti)
3rd place: Aaron Napoleon (Hawaii)
4th place: Tahutini Heifara (Tahiti)