Billabong Pro Update: Competition Postponed Due To Small Surf

Thursday, October 7, 2004 (Mundaka, Euskadi, Spain) The Billabong Pro was postponed this morning due to small surf at Mundaka. With a generous waiting period running all the way through until October 16th and only two full days required to complete the US$260,000 event, organizers opted to hold off for more favorable conditions. Round three of the Foster’s men’s ASP World Championship Tournament (WCT) will meet again tomorrow at 9am (local time).

Small 1-2 ft (0.5m) waves were breaking this morning at Mundaka. While competition can relocate to nearby Bakio beach, it was decided to wait for the new swell predicted before continuing.

All upcoming heats are listed below.

Billabong Pro Mundaka Round Three (1st>Rnd4; 2nd=17th receives US$4,225)

H1: Nathan Hedge (AUS) vs. Tom Whitaker (AUS)

H2: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Tim Curran (USA)

H3: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

H4: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Nathan Webster (AUS)

H5: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Darren O’Rafferty (AUS)

H6: Jake Paterson (AUS) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

H7: Paulo Moura (BRA) vs. Cory Lopez (USA)

H8: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Armando Daltro (BRA)

H9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Shane Beschen (USA)

H10: Peterson Rosa (BRA) vs. Pat O’Connell (USA)

H11: Luke Egan (AUS) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)

H12: Michael Lowe (AUS) vs. Kalani Robb (HAW)

H13: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Trent Munro (AUS)

H14: Lee Winkler (AUS) vs. Richard Lovett (AUS)

H15: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Troy Brooks (AUS)

H16: Daniel Wills (AUS) vs. Victor Ribas (BRA)

The Billabong Pro Mundaka is supported by prestigious co-sponsors such as Vans, Von Zipper, Hertz, Yamaha and Cobra Jet ski, as well as local companies and administrations such as Mundaka, the Mundaka Surf Club, The Basque Surfing Federation, Bakio and the Bakio Surf Club, BBK, Telefonica and the Basque Government.