2013 ASP Awards Banquet Photo Gallery

Kolohe Andino
John Florence
Ace Buchan
Taj Burrow
Adriano De Souza
Granger Larsen
Sage Erickson
Mick Fanning
Sally Fitzgibbons
Sally Fitzgibbons
John John Florence
John John Florence Malia Manuel
Jack Freestone
Alana Blanchard
Laura Enever
Lyndie Irons
Josh Kerr
Malia Manuel
Gabriel Medina
Kelia Moniz
Carissa Moore
Joel Parkinson
Joel Parkinson
Lakey Petersen
Kelly Slater
Jordy Smith
Taylor Jensen

Emotional Evening As Champions Crowned At ASP World Surfing Awards

SURFERS PARADISE, Queensland/Australia (Friday, March 1, 2013) - The world's best surfers congregated last night at the QT Hotel in Surfers Paradise to celebrate the 2013 ASP World Surfing Awards, officially crowning last year's ASP World Champions and welcoming in the new year.

Joel Parkinson (AUS), 31, long considered to be a threat to the ASP World Title ever since his inception amongst the world's elite over a decade ago, was awarded his maiden crown last night. Amidst a capacity crowd of the world's best surfers and hometown supporters, the Gold Coast stalwart brought the house down with a heartfelt and emotional speech.

"It's beautiful to have everyone here tonight," Parkinson said. "We all come together and really celebrate last season amongst our friends and family. The new year, for me, begins tomorrow. Tonight, I just feel so fortunate to be up here and to be supported by my beautiful family. I love them and am only here because of them."

2012 ASP World Champion: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2012 ASP World Runner-Up: Kelly Slater (USA)
2012 ASP Rookie of the Year: John John Florence (HAW)

2012 ASP Women's World Champion: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2012 ASP Women's World Runner-up: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
2012 ASP Women's Rookie of the Year: Malia Manuel (HAW)

2012 ASP Breakthrough Performer: Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
2012 ASP Women's Breakthrough Performer: Lakey Peterson (USA)

2012 ASP World Longboard Champion: Taylor Jensen (USA)
2012 ASP Women's World Longboard Champion: Kelia Moniz (HAW)

2012 ASP World Junior Champion: Jack Freestone (AUS)
2012 ASP Women's World Junior Champion: Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
ASP Life Member/Chairman Emeritus: Richard Grellman
ASP Service to the Sport: Randy Rarick
Peter Whittaker Award: Adrian Buchan

2012 ASP Men's Heat of the Year (Fan Vote): Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Kelly Slater (USA) - Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach
2012 ASP Women's Heat of the Year (Fan Vote): Laura Enever (AUS) vs. Tyler Wright (AUS) - Roxy Pro Gold Coast
2012 ASP Maneuver of the Year (Peer Vote): Kelly Slater (USA) and Carissa Moore (HAW)
2012 ASP Wave of the Year (Peer Vote): Gabriel Medina (BRA) and Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
2012 ASP Surfers' Surfers (Peer Vote): Sage Erickson (USA) and Taylor Knox (USA)

John John Florence ASP Awards

John John Florence at the annual ASP World Awards where he picked up a trophy for Rookie Of The Year in 2012. Photo: ASP

The Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover, the opening stops of the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), will commence their windows tomorrow. The events run from March 2 - 13, 2013 and will be webcast LIVE via quiksilverlive.com

For more information, log onto ASPWorldTour.com