TWMX Race Series Racer Profile | Chad Pojar

Age: 25

Hometown: Garden Grove, California

Classes Raced: 450 Beginner

Sponsors: Basically my own pocket! Just having fun.

How long have you been racing and what led you to choose motocross?

As far as racing, I’ve raced a few times in the past few years, but mostly done GPs. I just kind of started racing motocross in the TransWorld Series about a year ago or so. You know, I’ve never done it before and I wanted to knock it off my bucket list of things to do. I’ve enjoyed every single one I’ve done.

How do you like the way we run the TransWorld Race Series?

I think it’s a great system. I think it’s a cool way to do it because I think there are people who are serious about this and then I think there are people that are just having fun like I am. It’s a great balance and a good ride for everyone.

Do you participate in any other sports or have any other hobbies?

I like doing a little bit of everything, I just went skiing yesterday actually up in Big Bear for the first time in five years, but I kept telling myself that I can’t get hurt because I was planning on coming out here today. You know Iike paddleboarding, I’ve done pretty much everything my entire life, but of recent dirtbike riding has been the main thing that I do.

How seriously do you take your racing?

For me, I think everybody has competitiveness in them. So I want to do well, but I tell everyone there’s a part to where you’re on the track and you gotta realize you have to go back to work on Monday. You got to be careful. I definitely have a balance, I like to challenge myself, but still be safe.

So talking about work on Monday, what do you do during the week?

I work for a vending machine company, I service them, basically restocking them with foods and drinks. Go anywhere that my route takes me to, right now I’m working mostly in Newport Beach, delivering to a couple investment banks and that type of thing.

What are your favorite types of tracks and track obstacles?

I would say Milestone is kind of like my home track because I’ve grown up going there. I do love Cahuilla. I wouldn’t say I really have a favorite track, but I would say if I had to choose a track that I go to a lot then I would say it’s probably Cahuilla. It’s probably one of the furthest tracks from me, but it’s nice because I am able to spend the night at my Grandma’s house which is about half an hour away from there.

What is your favorite thing about being a motocross racer?

I think it’s just the thrill and the adrenaline you get to have. It’s one of those things that I tell people all the time like you can’t do anything different for adrenaline, this is just something that I can’t even describe in words! Haha! It gets your blood pumping for sure.

What would you rather do, holeshot and run away or come from behind to win?

Come back and win, To be honest with you, I’m not the greatest starter, but you know I figure if I can get a decent start and just put down consistent laps, I figure I give myself the best chance.

Tell me about your bike and why you chose it and what have you done to make it work well for you?

To be honest with you, I’ve ridden Yamaha and Honda, even ran Suzuki a few times, but never a Kawasaki though. I grew up on all those bikes and really wasn’t impressed with it. The last I had was a Honda and my buddy who actually used to work for one of the Factory KTM teams was telling me about KTM and how great of a bike it was. You know, not knowing anything about it, it was just like wow, this sounds like a really great product. I wanted to give it a shot and riding the bike bone stock out of the store, I was actually so impressed. What I did though from learning from people was put some aftermarket parts and suspension to make it ride better for me, so I can ride safer. Everything else is just completely bone stock because I know it can sometimes be an expensive hobby. Try to keep it fun, but put a little investment into it.